Home | news | Congressional Motorsports Caucus

Congressional Motorsports Caucus


Congressional Motorsports Caucus introduces resolution to honor NASCAR’s contribution to American life and economy

Last week, Members of the Congressional Motorsports Caucus introduced a bipartisan resolution to recognize the 75th Anniversary of NASCAR:

“For seventy-five years NASCAR has been making significant contributions to our economy, to education and to American culture,” said Congressman Bill Posey (R-FL), Co-Chair of the bipartisan Congressional Motorsports Caucus. “Having been a racer, owned a racetrack, and involved in the listing or sale of one hundred racetracks, I’ve enjoyed racing from almost every perspective, and I am delighted by this opportunity to salute NASCAR on achieving this tremendous milestone.”

“As co-chair of the Congressional Motorsports Caucus, I am proud to recognize the 75th anniversary of NASCAR. NASCAR is the premier racing innovator and stimulates our economy through their 10 month-long season. Congratulations to NASCAR on this historic milestone, and I look forward to seeing the positive impacts of NASCAR for generations to come,” said Congressman Mike Thompson (D-CA).

“On behalf of the France family, NASCAR is honored that the Congressional Motorsports Caucus will recognize the sport in commemoration of its 75th anniversary milestone. Throughout the year, we will celebrate the past and those who since 1948 have built and shaped our great sport into the iconic brand that excites and inspires millions of fans still today. Looking ahead, it is the very same spirit of innovation and adventure that will drive NASCAR forward and into the future,” said Steve Phelps, NASCAR President

“Although NASCAR was founded at the Streamline Hotel in Daytona Beach, it has deep roots here in North Carolina. From being the birthplace to some of the sports’ biggest stars to now being the home to nearly every major team, North Carolina has played an enormous part in NASCAR’s history. NASCAR has also contributed significantly to our local economy by creating good paying jobs and bringing millions of visitors to the state over the years. Nowhere is that more evident than the Tenth District which is home to the NASCAR Technical Institute and multiple championship teams earning Mooresville the nickname, Race City USA. As a lifelong NASCAR fan, I am proud to support this resolution honoring 75 years of NASCAR,” said Congressman Patrick McHenry (R-NC), House Financial Services Committee Chairman.

“NASCAR has been a huge part of our country and North Carolina’s history and culture for the last 75 years. They are a great member of the Charlotte community, from the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Uptown Charlotte to Charlotte Motor Speedway. I’m happy to celebrate 75 years of NASCAR racing,” said Congressman Jeff Jackson (D-NC).

“Since its incorporation in 1948, Daytona Beach has been the proud home of NASCAR," said Congressman Michael Waltz (R-FL). "It’s where it all began with drivers racing down our beach to the famous North Turn and A1A. Racing is in our blood here in Florida and that's why I am so proud to celebrate the 75th anniversary of NASCAR. Here's to many more decades of racing in Daytona Beach and around the world!"

“NASCAR has been a staple of American motorsports for 75 years, pioneering automobile innovation and motorsports competition. This season looks to be a fun one and you can bet I will be cheering on the Georgia native, and NASCAR’s most popular driver, Chase Elliott,” said Congressman Buddy Carter (R-GA).

“The NASCAR Foundation has made a positive impact on generations of fans and given back to racing communities across the country,” said Congressman Richard Hudson. (R-NC). “As a lifelong racing fan, it is an honor to formally recognize 75 years of NASCAR and I look forward to many more years of racing and tradition.”

The Congressional Motorsports Caucus serves as an informal, bipartisan group of Members dedicated to celebrating motorsports of all varieties and understanding their impact on American culture and the economy.

Other Members cosponsoring this resolution include, Congressman Gus Bilirakis (R-FL), Congressman Rick Crawford (R-AK), Congressman Mike Kelly (R-PA), Congressman Bill Huizenga (R-MI), Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman-Schultz (D-FL), Congressman Tim Walberg (R-MI), Congressman Alex Mooney (R-WV), and Congresswoman Norma Torres (D-CA) Congressman André Carson (D-IN).

The text of the resolution can be found here.

Congressional Estuary Caucus

Dedicated to estuary restoration and conservation.

Visit Site

Congressional Motorsports Caucus

Revving up the American Economy.

Visit Site

Take My Latest Survey

Let me know how I can better serve you!

Take Survey

Read the Constitution

Read Now

Sign up for Email Updates