Home | news | Press Releases

Press Releases

Posey to Award Congressional Medal of Merit to Extraordinary High School Students

Congressman Bill Posey (R-Rockledge) will award the 2014 Congressional Medal of Merit to notable students of Florida’s 8th District at the Brevard County Government Complex in Viera on Wednesday, May 14, 2014 at 4PM. The distinguished students receiving the award are graduating seniors who were nominated by schools in recognition of their outstanding academic achievement, a commitment to their communities, and civic involvement. They are leaders in the area of peer respect, school citizenship, and are involved in extracurricular activities.

“I congratulate these students for their hard work and commitment to making their schools and communities better places,” said Congressman Posey. “The Congressional Medal of Merit honors young people for their contributions, leadership, and their achievements. I am delighted to recognize these deserving students with this award.”

Also, Congressman Posey will present the Bronze Congressional Award Medal to student Leah Reinhard of Vero Beach. The Congressional Award is the United States Congress' award for young Americans. It is non-partisan, voluntary, and non-competitive. The Award offers young people the opportunity to set personal goals and achieve them in the areas of Volunteer Public Service, Personal Development, Physical Fitness, and Expedition/Exploration.

WHAT: Rep. Posey to award students with the 2014 Congressional Medal of Merit Award

WHERE: Brevard County Government Complex, Building C, County Commission Chambers
                  2725 Judge Fran Jamieson Way

WHEN: Wednesday, May 14, 2014 at 4PM

The following students have been nominated for the 2014 Congressional Medal of Merit:

INDIAN RIVER COUNTY: Carolyn Dang, Sebastian River High School; Kaitlin Ruby, Indian River Charter High School; Jake Sonzogni, Vero Beach High School; Will Tremml, Saint Edward’s School.

BREVARD COUNTY: Matthew Adams, Cocoa High School; Carolyn Barton, Palm Bay High School; Christine Gal, Cocoa Beach High School; Katherine Hess, Holy Trinity Episcopal Academy;
Ilana Krause, West Shore High School; Benjamin Laird, Melbourne Central Catholic High School; Lillian Mayer, Astronaut High School; Patricia Morrison, Space Coast High School; Jonathan Newman, Eau Gallie High School; Corey Noble, Edgewood High School; Jessica Owens, Bayside High School; Joseph Stukey, Satellite High School; Troy Tharpe, Merritt Island High School; Amanda Thompson, Florida Air Academy; Joanna Tronina, Titusville High School; Spencer Tworkowski, Melbourne High School; Dominick Vaske, Viera High School; Daniel Venable, Merritt Island Christian School; Vernie Wade, Heritage High School; John Wilcox, Rockledge High School.

Congressional Estuary Caucus

Dedicated to estuary restoration and conservation.

Visit Site

Congressional Motorsports Caucus

Revving up the American Economy.

Visit Site

Take My Latest Survey

Let me know how I can better serve you!

Take Survey

Read the Constitution

Read Now

Sign up for Email Updates